El mundo de el Internet afuera de los Estados Unidos

The population of the world right now is about 7,115,393,380 and the population in the US is about 315, 816,000. This means that there are about 6 billion people living outside the US. According to the article from USA Today about 80% of the world’s population uses the Internet.

Every country is different and not every country is a fan of Facebook, like Brazil and Russia. Social media is all over the world and some countries do not use it for the same purposes as America.

 I remember when I moved to the US I was always getting e-mails on Hi5 from my friends in Mexico, and I never knew what it was, I only knew what MySpace and Facebook were. I also remember that I came here using the website Photolog. All of my friends were using this website but no one in the US knew it, because they were using MySpace. Did you ever use another website aside from MySpace or Facebook when you were young?

 In class we talked about how in Africa the people are using the Internet and mobile phones in different ways than here in America. Having a cellphone for an African person is more of a necessity than a luxury.

 They use their phones for banking, activism, education, entertainment, disaster management, agriculture, and health. It actually reminded me of Mexico- mobile phones have become a necessity there instead of a luxury. Even though people in the United States use their phones similarly, like for mobile banking, it’s more for convenience than necessity. Infrastructures in the major cities like Mexico City and Guadalajara are more maintained, but when you are in the rural areas, simple amenities like banking and access to a doctor become more difficult. Using mobile phones, similarly to how they are used in Africa, allows for people further from the cities to be more connected and in control of their lives than they would be otherwise.  Do you think it is positive that most of their lives depend on their mobile phones?

 Image

Another way that mobile phones and social media have been used is for activism. During the Tunisian and the Egyptian revolutions social media played a major role.  People were taking pictures, and videos of the riots and putting them on public social medias like Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, and blogs.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IIev3MCuypk

The use of social media was so big during the revolutions that President Mubarak cracked down on the media, and consequently took down the Internet too.

 Image

Social media is the new way to communicate with the world. If a revolution sparks in a small town in South America the world will know about it in minutes because for some people the first thing they think to do when a big event happens is to put it on Facebook or Twitter.

The same thing happened with the bombings at the Boston Marathon this past month. Minutes after the bombs exploded there were tweets about it.

 Social Media outside the United States is as big as here even though in some countries the internet is used for other things, like instead of updating your status about how you did on your finals someone in Africa is probably texting the number of his medicine pills to make sure they are legitimate.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to El mundo de el Internet afuera de los Estados Unidos

  1. brawnyman127 says:

    As a kid, I never used any social media that I didn’t have friends on already. This is partially because my parents mistrusted these new, Social Media sites that seemed to be popping up everywhere.
    My social media progression went like so:
    1. Letter Writing
    2. Telephone
    3. Email
    4. AOL Instant Messaging
    5. Xanga
    6. Cell Phone/SMS Texting
    7. Myspace
    8. Facebook
    9.Pintrest, Twitter, Instagram, Word Press kindof all at once…

    It’s been my habit to let my friends decide what I should do. Not when it comes to whether I jump off a bridge or anything as cliche as that of course – I guess I just always assume the next Social Medium is going to turn out to be a fad. But after I have several friends subscribing or investing in a service and seeming to be happy with it, I don’t hesitate to jump in after. (My cousin twisted my arm into joining facebook, and honestly- if it weren’t for Bumper Stickers, I probably never would have gotten into it..)

    I don’t believe it’s a bad thing that we all seem so dependent on cell phones; in my opinion, it’s just people trying to do things in a more efficient way than has been possible before. Also, the dependence is exaggerated in my opinion – Like when people say they’d die without Air Conditioning. In my head I’m all like, “Yeaaaah ((*Limberg voice*)) I’m sure there would be some deaths attributed to over heating, but the fact that people survived for thousands of years in similar conditions makes me think what you meant to say is ‘I’d be somewhat inconvenienced without Air Conditioning.'”

  2. superbrent89 says:

    I think it is safe to assume that the advent of technology permeates cultures in a variety of ways, but I don’t believe that American’s can be lumped into an exclusively “luxurious” category when it comes to use of technology. When faced with a new “tool”, humans have a tendency to imagine many uses for it, some practical and some not. For instance, I might imagine that one day a disc tray could also be used to toast some delicious bread. However awesome that might be, it doesn’t really make sense. So we will inevitably use it in ways that will enhance our lives based on what we as individuals are going through. Certain people will find themselves very drawn in to Social Media because their jobs tend to isolate them from friends or family. Others will use a cell phone because it is the only way to reach a client who works across the country. And even others might see technology as a hindrance and stick to something that seems less intimidating or complicated. Regardless, technology and its uses vary based on location, on many different scales.
    If it were not for Facebook, I would not likely have heard about the Occupy Movement that arose last year. The Occupy Movement wouldn’t have erupted in the US if it hadn’t been for bloggings and news coverages about uprisings in the middle east of the same nature. This phenomenon was the first of its kind to spread so far so quickly, and that makes Facebook a very powerful tool of communication and change. So many people may have similar opinions or beliefs, yet not know how to communicate these ideas or share them with others. The internet allows for us to see what is going on anywhere in the world, and actively engage in conversation or even physical action.

Leave a Reply

