qussbyaz

In regards to the readings from this week I have to admit that I never thought about my digital reputation or “footprint” until now. I never thought about everything that I posted: Ideologies, questions, statements, answers, contact info, friend’s list, facebook groups, etc. Recently I had the opportunity to look up my digital reputation and was pleasantly surprised to find that my reputation is pretty positive and hard to find. The information I did pull up made me look ambitious and somewhat important with a network of friends and a select skill set. All this information was based off of my LinkedIn profile, and NT Daily newspaper article I had contributed to.

It all really boils down to image, whether building one, preserving one, or repairing one. Employers now search Social Networking Sites (SNS) for information regarding potential applicants; as a matter of fact there are online application sites that can link their accounts with Facebook profiles. Being so close to graduation and in need of work I am more aware of what I have posted on my Facebook profile while making sure I have a decent internet presence that allows for me to showcase my abilities. Much like:

Philip Defranco; he is a Vlogger and entrepreneur who made himself famous off of Youtube before it became a permanent fixture in Society’s lexicon. He expresses himself via news stories that are considered important by the “viewers” with topics that range from technology to politics. His own personal ideology is prevalent in his remarks and he is very forthright about it; that honesty is what makes him one of my favorite vloggers. Even though I feel that him and I share the same views, the fact that he does have views that I disagree with lends to the authenticity of his delivery and overall internet presence. The internet has this very rebellious feel to it, like anyone can be who they are without being a puppet for someone else. Unlike network or radio talk shows, sponsorship isn’t a concern so it seems like the person or persona I am watching doesn’t have to filter what they are saying to appease their bosses. Granted sometimes they can get a little too personal with the information they share but I figure if they are willing to bare their “soul” in front of thousands and thousands of viewers then they might be worth a few minutes of my time.

Twitter is a completely different avenue where 140 characters or less can go a long way, except it doesn’t require as much time to access the information. For the most part it allows for quicker, more convenient communication that ranges from news to facts, or anecdotes on life. What is most interesting is the audience or context in which these sites cater to, for instance Facebook is seen as the sight you would most likely encounter a personal blog on, while Twitter you would be more accustomed to quick updates about a person’s day. LinkedIn is more professional, as Tumblr can be a little bit of personal and professional mixed into one; except with pictures and gifs. Internet presence is more essential now than ever, the use of SNS allow for a “brand” to be made of oneself. With whom you choose to interact with, the sites you use to create those interactions, and activities associated with those interactions can affect your livelihood. As exciting as it is to see the world move forward and fully embrace the digital age both professionally and personally, it is also scary how one little mistake or misunderstanding can follow you via one quick-click of a search button.

How do you maintain your internet presence?

How do you build you internet presence?

How do you repair your internet presence?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to

  1. As a late adopter of social media, I only recently considered the consequences of not maintaining my online presence. Managing one’s reputation online is daunting task especially for the technologically illiterate. However, simply ignoring it can be even more damaging. They say the Internet never sleeps and social networking sites don’t either. Even if you don’t own a computer, there’s probably some information about you somewhere online. The best approach is a proactive one.
    Aside from potential employers, there are a number reasons to manage your online reputation. For example, I remember coming across an interesting profile on a dating website. A woman in her early 30’s was requesting social networking info, Linkedin specifically, from potential suitors. Not only was she using it to verify the authenticity of profiles, I’m guessing that she was requesting Linkedin to gauge the social standing and income of prospective mates.
    The biggest challenge I’ve encountered is context collapse. Friends, family and co-workers all view my facebook. It’s often difficult tailoring messages for all three. There’s a similar problem that occurs in documentary filmmaking. People in front of the camera perform simultaneously for the filmmaker and the imagined audience. Fortunately, online we can be responsible for our own performance.

Leave a Reply

